Wilco at Massey Hall in Toronto

Massey Hall

OK, let me start by saying the pictures in this post are a bit of a lie.  I didn’t bring a camera to this show, so the above picture of Massey Hall is actually from May of this year, when I was there to see Neil Young (amazing show, as you’d probably expect).  The below picture of Wilco is from Edmonton in 2007 during their Sky Blue Sky tour.  But, since this post is about Wilco at Massey Hall, at least I gave you pictures of Wilco and of Massey Hall, right?  Yeah.

Wilco in Edmonton, 2007

I’ve seen Wilco a number of times.  Depending on how you count it, that number is anywhere between 5 and 9.  Soundchecks, opening slots, and Jeff Tweedy solo shows are the reason I don’t know exactly – I know I’ve seen 5 actual “Wilco concerts”.  In any case, this concert at Massey Hall on September 16, 2011 was probably my favourite one.

Wilco has a new album, and it’s awesome.  It’s called The Whole Love.  The first two songs are especially awesome, and those are the exact two songs they opened up the show with.  That’s right, they took the stage and immediately went into “Art of Almost”.  It was intense.  The music sounded incredible, and the lights were really fitting.   Hearing them play this music, and being there in person while it was happening, watching them stand there and actually create this music, with the lights behind them making them into silhouettes, I had this nostalgic feeling in my mind that this was history being made, that I was seeing Wilco in their prime.  And indeed I was right.  I am right.  I really like where Wilco is at right now. Yankee Hotel Foxtrot was 10 years ago now.  I love it, but nowadays I am more excited about what they’re doing NOW.  And based on their live show, I think the band is too.  I have noticed that their live show seems to be getting better lately, as great as it already was.

Let’s hear a live version of “Art of Almost” right now:

Wasn’t that awesome?  Obviously, that’s not from the Massey Hall show, but the video is of very good quality, so I thought I’d post that one.  Ditto for the next one (the next one they played at the show too)… here it is, “I Might”:

I really love those songs.  The rest of the album, too, in fact.  At the show, after these two songs to start, they played songs from other albums.  Lots of good selection.  As I’ve mentioned in another post, I won’t post the whole setlist, as it’s easy enough to find online (setlist.fm, for example).  Another highlight was when they played “Poor Places” immediately followed by “Reservations” (just like on the album!).  Many of my favourite Wilco songs were played, even if it was for the 4th or 5th time for me.  Like I said, this was maybe my favourite Wilco show that I’ve been to.  The sound, the songs, even the look of the stage…  as well as the beautiful and legendary venue.

To talk about some other live Wilco highlights for me (but not this particular show):

In February 2010 in Edmonton I got to see them do their amazing amazing cover of Neil Young’s “Broken Arrow”.  Here’s a video of that (not the same show, but same tour):

Also, at that same show, I requested (through Wilco’s website) a certain song, and they played it.  The beautiful “Remember the Mountain Bed” from Mermaid Avenue, Volume 2.

Once again, this isn’t from the show I went to, but my goal is to show you, the reader, these awesome songs and how awesome Wilco sounds live.

Back to the Massey Hall show, the opening act was Nick Lowe.  I just wanted to make a quick mention that he was really good.  His songs are upbeat and just make me feel good! He is talented.  His singing is smooth and a pleasure to listen to.  He had a slight echo on his voice that sounded fantastic.  To me, his sound was reminiscent of the Elvis at Sun album.  Very simple – acoustic guitar and singing, with really nice songs.  There was something classic about his performance.  I was there, and I felt excited by the mere fact that I was at a live concert where (good) music is being played.  He was very classy and was very respectful of the audience and the whole idea of live music in general.  Thankfully, the audience was equally respectful of him and Massey Hall served as a nice quiet hall to hear his great music in.  Here’s a video of pretty much exactly that, except without the echo (because this isn’t “live”, it’s only “sort-of live”):

Lastly, as a side note, Wilco played another show the next night, but I already had tickets for a show by another band on the same night, and couldn’t go to both.  In the end I wished that I had just gone to see Wilco both nights, especially since Wilco played “One Sunday Morning” on the second night, which was not played on the first night.

And speaking of “One Sunday Morning”, to close out this post, just as it closes out the new album, for 12 minutes*, relax and enjoy the gentle groove of this song:

*The song is 2 minutes longer on the vinyl version, which I will be receiving in the mail any day now.  I cannot wait!

Leave a comment